February Bookworm

This month I was able to finish reading four amazing books that had been on my to-read list for quite a long time. I usually read one book in two or three months. Sometimes I just let the bookworm in me sleep or watch a movie. But this month was an enjoyable experience through the world of paperback fiction.

Sputnik-Sweetheart

I started off with Haruki Murakami’s Sputnik Sweetheart which only took me two days to read. This is really a good read and I enjoyed it very much. I love how Murakami vividly describes human emotions in this book. Especially the human loneliness part which made me realize how loneliness could be the most awful and at the same time essential human emotional experience.

Alborn_-_For_One_More_Day_book_cover

One More Day by Mitch Albom is one novel that reminds you of those poignant regrets and miss chances. It is about a mother and son relationship that goes a lifetime and beyond. It is again, no question a beautiful Mitch Albom book. Since reading my first Mitch Albom book The Five People You Meet in Heaven and crying while reading Tuesdays with Morrie, I’ve been a fan of his works. This is definitely one of his books that will touch you and make you realize things. “A mother’s love” –  is indeed the strongest and it lasts forever.

looking-for-alaska

Looking for Alaska by John Green – I first heard about this when a friend sent me one particular quote from this book. “If people were rain, I was drizzle and she was hurricane”. I immediately fell in love with those words and couldn’t wait to read the whole book. I love how the protagonist is so obsessed with famous people’s last word. In this book, a boy is in love with this particular girl, a girl that could change his life, but he couldn’t bring himself to say it and then something happened. Now regrets and realizations are thrown everywhere. A book that has a lot of things you can find from today’s teens. Teens nowadays that are misunderstood but what they really want is just to seek the “Great Perhaps”.

BeforeIGoToSleep

Before I go to Sleep by S.J. Watson –  With a tagline – ” Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep?”.

It is a psychological thriller about a woman suffering from Anterograde Amnesia (loss of memory for events after an incident, having difficulty making new memories and absorbing new information) She wakes up every morning without any idea of who she really is and what happened the other day. She wakes up every morning thinking she is a carefree, twenty-something woman with a bright future ahead of her. But in reality, she is a forty-seven year old woman who suffered a terrible attack eighteen years ago that has left her unable to retain her memories. She keeps a journal as she tries to reconstruct her memories and later she finds herself in the terrifying  journey of discovery of what really happened and who she really is.

Definitely a gripping story that will give you insights on the effects of amnesia and the suffering the patient undergoes. This book is such a page-turner. A book that kept my interest. It had me guessing until the very last page. I guess for a debut novel, the author did a very good job on this one.

About Pinky

lost in space avoiding black holes and reaching for the stars, an alien whose life on earth is boring...
This entry was posted in Books, reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

