Song of the Day: Semisonic – Makin’ a Plan

I just learned a new vocabulary. I learned this from watching Japanese movies. Freeter,  as defined by urbandictionary.com: A freeter in Japanese means someone in their 20’s who is moving from job to job, mainly part time jobs which pay small wages. There are 3 types of freeters, ones who are seeking their dream careers thus doing these odd jobs, those who refuse to become ‘wage slaves’, and mostly those who have no choice. I know this word doesn’t sound good especially for those practical people but according to Wikipedia:

The advantage of being a freeter is that one has more freedom of choice, and more time for hobbies, volunteering, and community service. If they are living with their parents, they can spend their entire income on themselves.

And so this song goes out to all the freeters out there. My heart goes out to all of you. Stay happy and don’t fret.

Out in the land where my dreams flew around
I bulldozed the trees and set my feet on the ground
Put a day in and a week would come out
I didn’t have time for doubt

Then when the whole thing went down the drain
I learned that the future don’t always obey
Now I’m afraid to get back in the pool
Somehow I’d feel like a fool

Making a Plan
Making a Plan

High in the morning with climbing to do
High in the turrets I’m thinking of you
Everybody says it’s all for the best
Somehow I wouldn’t have guessed

Little dominions turn into dust
Schemes blow away on a breeze of mistrust
I’m not feeling sorry for little ol’ me
But I’m not about to be

Making a Plan
Making a Plan

Stop, you work your way up til you drop
Down down until your ears go pop
What were we gonna do at the top?
I forgot

Now I can sit and watch the time fly
And I’ll feel better when time has gone by
And I’ll never again be blindsided by fate
The future will have to wait
I only have time for today
As long as I can delay

About Pinky

lost in space avoiding black holes and reaching for the stars, an alien whose life on earth is boring...
This entry was posted in Music, Song of the Day. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

