HEBE 田馥甄 – Insignificance

Insignificance” is an electro-ballad rarely seen in the C-pop world. The concept is inspired when Hebe Tian shares one of her favorite poems with her colleagues, “Under One Small Star” by Polish poet Wislawa Szymborska:

“Soul, don’t take offense that I’ve only got you now and then.
My apologies to everything that I can’t be everywhere at once.”

Enchanted by the verses, she hopes lyrics in her new album can be similarly passionate between tranquil lines. With the help of famous songwriter Chow Yiu-fai, “Insignificance” captures her reflections and concerns to life and earth with poetic words.”                                                     – HIM International

English translation by Chow Yiu Fai, lyricist of the original Chinese version.

A bustling city breeds a lonely polar bear.
An innocent child runs across a filthy dump.
Confusing memories always remind me of those dedicated moments.
While the hideous world sometimes reads me a beautiful poem.

Now I know, the darkest sky shows the brightest stars
For all the things done, for all the things yet to be done, for you and me, for all of us who are still alive
Now I know, a magnificent doubt, an insignificant me
To all the butterflies and robins, to all the bodies and souls, to all of us,
should I say thanks, or sorry?

Is the harshest separation destined for the gentlest reunion?
Our simple hope is never meant for our complicated time
Now I know, the darkest sky shows the brightest stars
For those who have pained, for those who have wronged, for you and me, for all of us who are still alive

Now I know, a magnificent doubt an insignificant me
To all the soil and dust, to all the bodies and souls, to all of us,
should I say thanks, or sorry?

In a universe, speechless, there are always the brightest stars
They disappear, they appear, and some day they will forgive you and me

Now I know, a magnificent doubt, an insignificant me
To all the love and hate, to all the bodies and souls, to all of us,
I should say thanks, and sorry.

***

I love the poetic message of this song. Yes, it is not a love song. It is very different from those songs that dominate the pop genre nowadays. It doesn’t talk about the cliches commonly used in the genre since time immemorial.

For me this song is about the gigantic ego of humans that when defeated can definitely become insignificant in nature. We are like the lonely polar bears struggling to survive in the melting Arctic. We live in a bustling city, so busy, so noisy, we can’t even hear our own souls telling us our true desires and thus confusing our thoughts with stupid ideals and closing our hearts and minds to what is really essential. But despite all the turmoil, the complicated world and self-doubt, we can still find our way through the darkest sky and find our own bright star. We also have to live in the sense where we consider the things around us and learn to accept that we exist in a world where other creatures are significant and like us, they also need to survive. Just because we “think” we are on the top of the food chain doesn’t mean we are the greatest among the living.

About Pinky

lost in space avoiding black holes and reaching for the stars, an alien whose life on earth is boring...
This entry was posted in Environment, Music, Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment